The many faces of Matt Anderson

Matt Anderson

Hello paper crafters! Allow me to introduce myself. My name is Matt Anderson. I am a husband, father of three great kids (two boys, one baby girl) and the senior graphic designer for Paper Crafts magazine.

Working for a publication such as Paper Crafts is a lot of fun. I do the internal design of the magazine, create ads, design covers for some of our special issues and occasionally do photo shoots of our material. Oh, and I also design the monthly banner on Cath’s Moxie Fab World blog. May’s banner is pretty cool, “woodn’t” you agree?

Being the only guy on an all-female team is easier than you think. Yes, I’m your average, every day, run-of-the-mill kind of guy. I’m a huge football fan (usually watched in holey sweats), I love super cool action movies (with an overabundance of explosions and special effects), video games, playing in the dirt, bugs and comic books (yeah, my boys love me).

I now know what it feels like for some of you women working in all-male environments. It’s strange, alien and like a whole different world at times. Even though it’s a challenge, it’s also very entertaining. I think it’s one of the most entertaining jobs I’ve ever had. I’ve had to chuckle at some of the conversations that happen in my area of the office. Some of the topics have included:

  • What shirt someone has bought on sale at the “Rack” (whatever that means) that matches the shoes they bought at Macy’s.
  • Details on what Matthew McConaughey’s abs look like in his new movie.
  • What kind of new moisture rich lotion works best with the transitioning conditions between winter and spring.

Seriously though, after the age of 10, I was pretty much raised by a single mom. And she’s one of the strongest women I have ever met. Happy Mother’s Day, Mom!

I guess you could say my life changed a lot in September of 2008. That’s when I started working with seven crazy and wonderful women. And to work with these talented ladies is a real pleasure.

In the words of Truman Burbank,
“Good morning, and in case I don’t see ya, good afternoon, good evening, and good night!”

P.S. Kelly’s always giving away free stuff, so now I want a turn! I’d love to hear your feedback on these six openers I designed for the magazine.

Heres the Fluttering Butterflies and Here Comes the Bride openers from our March/April 2009 issue.

Here's the Fluttering Butterflies and Here Comes the Bride openers from our March/April 2009 issue.

Heres Motherhood Through the Ages and Father Knows Best from our May/June 2009 issue.

Here's the Motherhood Through the Ages and Father Knows Best openers from our May/June 2009 issue.

And heres a exclusive sneak peek of The Value of Vintage and 5 Cards, 5 Occasions, 5 Dollars openers from our upcoming July/August issue!

And here's an exclusive sneak peek of The Value of Vintage and 5 Cards, 5 Occasions, 5 Dollars openers from our upcoming July/August 2009 issue!

Let me know which opener you like the best! One random winner will receive a collection of magazines that these openers appear in – March/April, May/June and our upcoming July/August. All comments must be received by midnight on Friday, May 8! The winner will be announced on Monday’s blog.

