Lindy Brown

Lindy Brown

Well friends, today marks the beginning of my last week here at Paper Crafts, and I can’t tell you how much fun it has been! This internship has been incredibly rewarding, and though I’m sad to leave, I am positive it will help me in my future career goals.

There are so many different things that I have learned while working here. One major lesson I have learned is to ask questions about anything and everything that I might be confused about. While I may look a little ignorant for a minute, that’s so much better than making a huge mistake on something important and looking ignorant for much, much longer. And every time I asked a question, I learned something new, and I wouldn’t have to ask that same question again.

I also learned that though the writing assignments are difficult and time consuming, it is so satisfying to finish an article. I also have learned to enjoy hunting for supplies-when I finally find a paper collection or stamp set I’ve spent twenty minutes searching for, I feel like I’ve found some sort of hidden treasure. I’ve gotten quite good at searching through manufacturers’ web sites.

But I think the most important thing I’ve learned is that even though there are things about magazine editing that aren’t so fun, and even though writing can often be stressful, and deadlines are always looming, I still love what I do. I love being a part of a publication, knowing what goes on behind the scenes, being a part of the hustle and bustle around getting an issue out. It’s good to know that actually working on a publication hasn’t soured my taste for the publishing industry. I still love it.

Speaking of behind-the-scenes… The Paper Crafts team got together with our favorite peeps from Creating Keepsakes for our April Fools’ Day Potluck last week. The goal was to bring a food item with a funny name or serve it in an unique way. Below is dirty dish water punch, puppy chow, cupcakes and grilled cheese sandwiches.

Look closely at the cupcakes... Theyre actually not cupcakes, but individual meat loaves with whipped potatoes dyed to look like frosting! And the grilled cheese sandwiches are actually slices of pound cake with yellow frosting in the middle!

Look closely at the cupcakes... They're actually not cupcakes, but individual meat loaves with whipped potatoes dyed to look like frosting! And the grilled cheese sandwiches are actually slices of pound cake with yellow frosting in the middle!

And I have to thank the editorial staff here at Paper Crafts for giving me this wonderful opportunity. I don’t know where else I would have gotten the experience of working on a real magazine, and the people here are so much fun! So thanks, everyone, for letting me be a part of the Paper Crafts culture. Paper crafting will forever have a place in my heart!

Your Paper Crafts Intern,
Lindy

P.S. Kelly wanted me to announce the 12 winners from last week’s Freebie Friday – Get Your Blinkies Here post. Here they are in no particular order:

1. Wendy (April 5, 12:33 p.m.)
2. Marlene (April 4, 3:36 p.m.)
3. Andrea Schultz (April 3, 6:16 p.m.)
4. Angel S. (April 3, 5:17 p.m.)
5. Kim Marie (April 3, 3:27 p.m.)
6. Elaine (April 4, 12:34 a.m.)
7. Christina (April 3, 12:05 p.m.)
8. Toni Storie (April 3, 10:13 a.m.)
9. Shawn Wenrich (April 3, 9:51 p.m.)
10. Katie (April 3, 11:37 a.m.)
11. Kristin Orth (April 5, 10:35 p.m.)
12. Claude (April 4, 6:34 p.m.)

Congrats, winners! Each of you will receive a package of American Crafts Flair! Kelly will be e-mailing you shortly for your mailing addresses. Thanks to all who left so many great April Fools’ Day stories!

P.P.S. It looks like most of you we’re able to post the blinkies last week. If you’re still having trouble, shoot Kelly an e-mail at ksmith@ckmedia.com. She’ll try to “blink” you in the right direction!

