Lindy Brown

Lindy Brown

Every issue of Paper Crafts magazine is stuffed full of some of the most amazing paper crafted projects. Once we choose which projects we are going to publish, designers from all over send in their projects so we can photograph them. Once the process of writing, editing, and designing the magazine is completed, we’re left with hundreds of projects that need to be returned (with complimentary issues of the magazine) to the designers.

When I was first given the assignment to return the projects from the March/April issue, I didn’t think it would be that big of a deal. I thought wrong. (Sounds eerily similar to how I reacted to the writing assignment, doesn’t it? Maybe from now on I should start overestimating the amount of effort things require…) It wasn’t that the work was particularly difficult, it was just rather time consuming.

I completely take over the break room when I do returns. Because we have so many talented designers who have multiple projects in an issue, I will first sort through all of the projects and arrange them in piles according to designer. This makes it easier when stuffing envelopes, because that way I don’t have to shuffle through bins and folders in order to find a particular designer. These piles of projects are spread all over the break room tables.

Maybe one of these piles of projects belongs to you!

Maybe one of these piles of projects belongs to you!

In addition to returning your projects, we also throw in some paper craft goodies from the product cart.
In addition to returning your projects, we also throw in some paper craft goodies from the product cart.

Then, once I have the projects organized, I will stuff envelopes or package boxes, depending on the size and amount of projects in one package. Cards are by far the easiest. I can fit quite a few cards in one envelope, and that means I don’t have to go searching through the warehouse looking for the right sized box.

From piles of projects to piles of envelopes and boxes, this is the joy of returns!

From piles of projects to piles of envelopes and boxes, this is the joy of returns!

The first time I did returns, it took me a full eight-hour shift. It was a good thing I had my handy-dandy orange iPod. Music made returns go a lot faster. Music makes a lot of things go faster. I often listen to instrumental music while I work on my writing assignments. (I’m actually listening to “The Village” soundtrack as I write this.) 

Who knew that working at Paper Crafts magazine would require so much manual labor? But it just goes to show how much work goes into putting out this publication. The staff puts in an incredible amount of time and effort, but it is all worth it.

Your Paper Crafts intern,
Lindy

P.S. Brandy wanted me to announce the winners of her Maximize Your Stamps + MORE FREEBIES!! post from last week. After a whopping 507 comments, the two lucky winners are #25 (Carol, March 19, 10:07 a.m.) and #171 (Tammy Reagan, March 19, 4:00 p.m.). Congratulations, ladies! We’ll be contacting you shortly for your mailing addresses. Thanks to all who left comments and played along. Stay tuned for tomorrow’s big announcement on who won the amazing prize package from Kelly’s Freebie Friday – The Big One! post. (BTW, we’re still accepting comments until midnight tonight (MST), so keep them coming!)

