Susan R. Opel

Susan R. Opel

It’s pretty amazing that I have been scrapbooking since 1998, and I never really got all that into stamping. I certainly have admired all of the lovely stamps that manufacturers keep making, but it all seemed too messy – this coming from a former middle school art teacher who NEVER did a project with painting or paper mache (don’t worry – we did a lot of other really cool stuff!). But lately, things have been changing for me. What factors have been a part of that?  

A. P. Kelly Smith – Paper Crafts magazine’s Online Editor Extraordinaire – Oh, Miss Kelly! Her cubicle is right behind me, and she keeps trying to prod me to give stamping a try. She tells me, “It’s so easy. It saves time. You’ll love it!” So I humored her and gave it a shot.

In honor of St. Patrick’s Day, I created a Celtic inspired hello card featuring a lovely Lil Davis stamp.

In honor of St. Patrick’s Day, I created a Celtic inspired hello card featuring a lovely Lil Davis stamp.

B. American Crafts – At CHA in January, I was walking the floor with Cath, and we came to the American Crafts booth (always a source of brilliant inspiration for me). And guess what they were doing there? STAMPING! And I was like – WHOA – if American Crafts is stamping, I think I am game. So I got my hands on some sparkly green Zing! (AC’s new embossing powder) and went to town!

I created this layout with St. Patrick’s Day in mind as well – thinking about all of the things I feel “lucky” about.

I created this layout with St. Patrick’s Day in mind as well – thinking about all of the things I feel “lucky” about.

C. Stamp It! Cards – Probably the most important factor in getting me to want to give stamping a try is Stamp It! Cards. This special issue is so crazy COOL! The contributors really showed me that stamping can in fact be trendy and hip! There are so many inspiring designers in this issue, but I am blown away by the stamping prowess of Dawn McVey. I’m sure that you will find each and every one of her designs absolutely exquisite along with page after page of other dazzling designs.

Be inspired to the max by Stamp It! Cards.

Be inspired to the max by Stamp It! Cards.

So now that I am getting into the groove, what sort of advice can you give me as a newbie to ease me into the world of ink and stamps? Leave me a comment with some stamping tips for beginners, and you will be entered to win my Green Hi Card pictured above as well as this aptly named Lucky collection from Rusty Pickle.

Doesn’t this line just make you want to Riverdance?

Doesn’t this line just make you want to Riverdance?

Happy St. Patrick’s Day from your Scotch-Irish redhead-by-choice associate editor!

Susan 

P.S. Our Stamp It! Week Challenge is off to a great start! Wanna play? To participate, create a stamped card featuring one of the following techniques:

Stamp Kissing
Build a Scene
Creating Patterned Paper with Stamps
Adding Color with Markers
Adding Color with Dye Ink Sprays

Upload your stamped card here from now until Monday, March 23. We’ll pick 10 winners (two per category) to win a fabulous prize package. Five winners’ cards will be shown on this blog and five will be shown on Moxie Fab World. AND once you upload your card, you can turn around and mail it into our Stamping Royalty card contest!

