Lindy Brown
Lindy Brown

When I first started studying to be an editor, I never pictured myself working at a magazine, and certainly not at a paper crafting magazine. The last time I tried anything even remotely close to paper crafting was in third grade. Now that, my friends, is an entertaining scrapbook! So when I first started my internship here at Paper Crafts, I didn’t know what to expect.

The first thing that I noticed was the detail of the projects. I may not be a card maker, but I can certainly appreciate the time and effort put into these paper crafted masterpieces. Luckily for me, knowing how to make something like this was not a job requirement.

Speaking of detailed projects... I just love these two cards featured in our latest special issue Stamp It! Cards. "Thankful" is by Dawn McVey and "Thanks Deery" is by Angie Hagist.

Speaking of detailed projects... I just love these two cards featured in our latest special issue Stamp It! Cards. "Thankful" is by Dawn McVey and "Thanks Deery" is by Angie Hagist.

My first official duty for Paper Crafts was a writing assignment. I was pretty excited, and a little nervous, because this was the first thing I had ever written for a real publication. But I thought, hey, how hard can this be? The answer: pretty dang hard. I was in charge of writing a couple sections for the upcoming Card Creations: Volume 7 special issue. This writing assignment includes writing titles, supply lists, and step-by-step instructions for each project. It also looks deceptively simple.

By far, the hardest part of the whole assignment was the supply lists. Every single thing used on every single project must be verified–which can be an incredibly time-consuming process–so we can make sure that the correct information is recorded. That’s part of what makes Paper Crafts such an amazing magazine! All the information anyone needs in order to duplicate these projects is included, thanks to the hard work of the editorial staff.

This writing assignment was such a huge learning experience for me. I was a little bit stressed, but with some helpful suggestions and instruction from our amazing managing editor, Brandy, I think I got the hang of the process. And once I got that down, it was quite fulfilling to finish the assignment. And the lessons I learned were absolutely invaluable. Since then, I have had a few more writing assignments (none of which were nearly as stressful!), and I’ve got at least one more around the corner. I can’t wait to see my name in print!

Your Paper Crafts intern,
Lindy

P.S. I’ll be writing two more blog posts over the course of my internship. Make sure to check back on March 23 and April 6 for more glimpses into my intern world!

