Brandy Jesperson
Brandy Jesperson

Paper Crafts recently had a call for submissions where we asked people to use their scraps. You know, those bits of patterned paper, ribbon, and cardstock that a novice might simply throw away. I was so inspired by the submissions we received that I decided to get a little scrap happy and create a few cards from my own stash of scraps. 

This past weekend I snuggled into my craft room, popped in Stanger than Fiction (a GREAT movie, by the way), and surveyed my box of scraps. When I began this little project I assumed I’d be able to make a few cards. Four hours later I still had snippets to spare and I’d lost track of how many cards I’d actually made! It was such a rewarding feeling to make something from practically nothing. Six months ago I would’ve just thrown these bits away, but by keeping them I now have several card sets I can give  people as gifts and loads of simple projects to send to my friends and family when they need a little cheering up.

You’ll have to wait until the July/August issue of Paper Crafts goes on sale to see the scrap-a-licious projects we accepted, but in the mean time here are a few of the cards I created last weekend. I used nothing more than scraps of patterned paper, cardstock, ribbon, a few loose rhinestones, rub-ons, and some straggler stickers.

Do you save your scraps? If not, I would highly recommend it! Using bits of paper, cardstock, and ribbon extends the life of your products and pushes the limits of your creativity. If you’re looking for more tips and you live in the Portland, Oregon area, make sure you check out the Creating Keepsakes Convention this weekend. It is sure to be a treasure trove of helpful hints and trendy tips. Thanks for stopping by and make sure you come back tomorrow for Kelly’s Freebie Friday.

Giving “scrappy” a whole new meaning,
Brandy

