P. Kelly Smith

P. Kelly Smith

Welcome to another edition of Magazine Monday! You’re probably sick of our never-ending birthday hoopla, but I hope you’ll indulge me one more time. (Well, maybe two more times… my birthday is right around the corner and if I know our little birthday fairy, the results will be worth blogging about yet again!)

So when it came to concepting the theme for our new designer’s birthday, Stace knew exactly what she wanted to do. See Matt loves Star Wars. He has all the little figurines propped up on his computer monitor and his hottie crush from last week’s post was Princess Leia (although I think he secretly harbors a man crush for that fur ball Chewbacca – or to those close to him – Chewie). Isn’t that sweet?

Heres Matt with his Star Wars-inspired cake. I wrote a little poem about Han Solo Anderson and Stace fashioned it to look like the movies opening credits.

Here's Matt with his Star Wars-inspired cake. I wrote a little poem about "Han Solo Anderson" and Stace fashioned it to look like the movies' opening credits.

And heres a close up of the cake. Matt, I mean, Han Solo Anderson now has more figurines to add to his collection.

And here's a close up of the cake. Matt, I mean, Han Solo Anderson, now has more figurines to add to his collection.

And heres the team with our jedi braids. If youre not familiar with this accessory, all training apprentices wears these until they are knighted jedi masters. Stace braided all of these out of yarn (yellow, brown, and black) and then attached them to jaw clips. I KNOW! Her attention to detail is insane!

And here's the team with our Jedi braids. If you're not familiar with this accessory, all training apprentices wear these until they are knighted Jedi masters. Stace braided these out of yarn (yellow, brown, and black) and then attached them to jaw clips. I KNOW! Her attention to detail is insane!

And if Matt’s smile wasn’t a dead giveaway, he was nice enough to send around this e-mail to all of us:

Hey Guys,

Thank you so much for celebrating my birthday for/with me. It was a lot of fun and I just wanted you to know that I really appreciate it. Thanks again for everything! You guys are awesome!

Matt

We enjoyed celebrating with you, too!

Kelly

 

P.S. Did everyone enjoy the Oscars last night? I thought Hugh Jackman did a great job of hosting and keeping the show rolling. But did you know he forgot to hand out one last award? The award for the Nine Pockets craft apron from Jillie Willie goes to… Emily Lurker! I’ll be e-mailing you shortly for your mailing address. Congratulations! And thanks to all who played along with last week’s Freebie Friday giveaway!

