P. Kelly Smith
P. Kelly Smith

Welcome to Magazine Monday! And Happy Presidents’ Day! We’re currently enjoying a much-needed day off (thanks George and Abe!), but through the wonders of modern technology, I was able to schedule this blog to post today – even though we’re not in the office! Cool, huh?

For today’s peek into our world, I thought it would be fun to share some pictures of us decorating sugar cookies. Since we were all in the Valentine spirit on Friday, we congregated in the break room for the annual CK Media Cookie Decorating Contest. Everyone got to decorate a cookie and then Katie, our cute receptionist, photographed them and then sent the pictures in a company-wide e-mail. After we all picked our top three, she sent around another e-mail announcing the three lucky winners. What did they win? Just the bragging rights, but around here bragging rights go a long way – especially if you’re a creative diva.

Heres Jennie Beardshall and Brooke Mathewson (from Events), Brandy, Susan and Katie (our receptionist) showing off their cookie-decorating skills.

Here's Jennie Beardshall, Brooke Mathewson (from Events), Brandy, Susan and Katie (our receptionist) showing off their fancy cookie-decorating skills.

And with all this yumminess around us, who wouldnt want to dive right in?

And with all this yumminess around us, who wouldn't want to dive right in?

Cute Brandy is tickled pink with her cookie.

Cute Brandy is tickled "pink" with her cookie.

And sassy Susan was so happy her favorite color was available to frost her cookie!

And sassy Susan was so happy her favorite color (bright orange)was available to frost her cookie!

Here I am with my pink cookie. It wasnt until I finished decorating it before I read the label on the frosting container - cream cheese! Since I am so not a fan, I couldnt eat my pretty cookie.

I went the more traditional route with my cookie. After I finished decorating it, I just happened to glance at the label on the frosting container - cream cheese! Since I am not a fan, sadly, I couldn't eat my pretty cookie.

Even our designer Matt tried his hand at decorating. He decided to draw our cute logo onto a cookie. Isnt he so talented?

Even our designer Matt tried his hand at decorating. He decided to draw our cute logo. Isn't he so talented?

We sure had fun oohing and aahing over everyone’s cookies. And the best part – we got to eat as many as we wanted! (Don’t you worry about me… I managed to decorate another cookie in plain vanilla frosting. It was sinfully delicious!)

How did you spend your Valentine’s Day? I’d love to hear from you!

Yours in cookie heaven,
Kelly

