Jennifer Schaerer

Jennifer Schaerer

I’ve been told since my adolescent years that I’ve got an old soul. I love timeless and classic design, vintage treasures and family heirlooms.

 

 

Tickling the vintage ivories

Tickling the vintage ivories

I recently had my great-grandmother’s 1917 baby grand piano refurbished, and have her garnet jewelry set and china, too. My husband has some things from his side of the family as well – a typewriter from the 1940s, and some Olympic medals from the 1920s.

Although they do have some material value, it’s the spirit of these treasures and the paths they traveled to get where they are today that fascinates me most. Vintage certainly has a charm all its own.

 

Ever since CHA a few weeks ago, we’ve been talking about threads of vintage in certain collections. We’ve wondered if it had anything to do with a building wave of desire to reflect on times gone by…simpler times.

 

After all, in a difficult economy it’s only natural to feel like folding into our cocoon of comfort and clutch at the constants in life – our family, our friends, and our memories. Because our budgets are tight, we can really only be generous in giving of ourselves where we are still wealthy. Luckily, our bank accounts are bulging with love and creativity.

 

Doesn’t it feel good to think about that? We have love and our creativity to share, and can give freely of both. Just like in simpler times.

 

So, tell me. What comes to mind when you think of vintage? Do you have a special heirloom or other family treasure that is extra special to you? Leave me a comment by Thursday at 5pm MST and I’ll enter you to win one of these two beautifully vintage sets of paper from Graphic 45:

 

Botanicabella, Playtimes Past and Baby 2 Bride

Botanicabella, Playtimes Past and Baby 2 Bride

Communique, Times Nouveau and Fashionista

Communique, Times Nouveau and Fashionista

Relishing thoughts of simpler times,

Jennifer

 

P.S. Speaking of family, did you know that our sister publication, Creating Keepsakes, launched a new blog last Friday?

