Betsy Veldman

Playing dress up is pretty much a daily occurrence here in the Veldman household. Rarely a day goes by without a superhero of some sort flying around the house. Even the name of my blog, Paper, Scissors, and Superheroes, attests to this fact.

Now that my girls are getting older, the fairy princesses are giving the superheroes a run for their money. But whatever it be — princess, hero or sometimes even villain (ahem…a certain two-year-old usually fills that role), someone is almost always in character. 

Well, today it was my turn! No, I did not don my cape and mask…that would be downright silly. I got a little crafty and decided to play around with dressing up some die cuts. I love all of the options that come with die-cutting my own shapes…I can make them whatever color my heart desires, my electronic machine can cut them in any size and I can cut as many as I want…which saves me a little cash, especially if I’m making multiples of something. 

But, sometimes these little paper wonders can feel a little…flat. So, I decided to put together a reference chart full of ideas for different ways I can dress them up. Here are just a few ideas you can turn to if you’d like to add some pizzazz to your die cuts: 

  • Stamp on them
  • Paper piece and layer them
  • Cover them in buttons
  • Pierce them
  • Emboss them
  • Embellish them with brads
  • Coat them with glitter
  • Add stitching
  • Distress them with paint, ink or sanding

These are just a few ideas to get you started! I’m sure there are a gazillion more ways that you can think of that I have not! 

And, of course, when I got all of these pretty butterflies all dressed up, I had to put them to use on some mini note cards. I just added a strip of patterned paper and a stamped sentiment. Aren’t they pretty all dressed up?  

Dressing up your cards can be so much fun!

And you know the saying…”All dressed up and no where to go?” Well, these little cards need somewhere to go! Leave a comment on this post and I’ll choose one winner to send this set of nine cards to. All comments must be received by midnight (MDT) on Friday, March 26.

Betsy Veldman,
Paper Crafts Go-to Gal

