You are currently browsing the daily archive for October 21, 2009.

Kim Kesti

Kim Kesti

Okay, I suppose it’s not the official Christmas rush yet, but when October rolls around I usually start getting a little anxious about my Christmas cards. I like to plan them in October, take a Christmas photo and make my cards in November, and mail them out first week in December. 

This fall at Creating Keepsakes Convention, Paper Crafts magazine teaches a fun class called Kick Start Christmas. I taught this class recently when convention was held in Glendale, Arizona. It really inspired me to “kick start” my own card plans. And better yet, one of the techniques we teach in our class is how to make Christmas cards with non-holiday paper. I thought that was a really interesting challenge. So, when I got home I decided to try it. I’m really happy with the results.

I grabbed a bunch of black, red and green scraps from my drawer and punched a whole batch of circles. I also choose a few creams for a neutral touch. I inked the edges of all the circles with black; this helped unify all the patterns. I stamped a little folksy bird (a non-holiday stamp) and a simple sentiment (both stamps are from Hero Arts). A bright touch of polka dot ribbon finished this guy off. What a fun, simple and inexpensive card to reproduce!

How are doing on your holiday cards? How about a little more inspiration? I’d like to send one lucky reader the card pictured above plus these previously published cards.

One lucky winner will take home ALL of these cards!

One lucky winner will take home ALL of these festive cards!

Just leave a comment below about your holiday card making adventures and you’ll be entered to win! All comments must be received by midnight (MDT) on Thursday, Oct. 22.

Happy card making!

Kim Kesti,
Paper Crafts Go-to Gal

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers