P. Kelly Smith

P. Kelly Smith

Welcome to Magazine Monday and day one of Stamp It! Week! We’ve planned a whole week of stamping fun on the Paper Crafts Connection and Moxie Fab World blogs! So sit back, relax and enjoy getting to know Miss Teri Anderson – our designer spotlight for the day, week and month!

For all of you subscribers out there, we sneak peeked Teri’s spotlight in our May/June “Paper Crafts Connection” column. Since we’re not limited to word count on the web (thank goodness!), we’re happy to bring you Teri’s complete interview here. And since she’s also a fabulous stamper, we’re gonna show off some of her great projects from Stamp It! Cards. She was also nice enough to contribute to our giveaway today, so make sure to leave a comment to win her gorgeous “Thank You” card set. Thanks, Teri!

Teri Anderson

Teri Anderson

1. What is your most difficult paper crafting challenge?

It’s using those “really special” pieces of paper and embellishments that were so cool when I got them. I always put them away for that “really special” project and then I can’t bring myself to use them because they are so cool.

2. What is your favorite paper crafting supply?

I love stamps. Clear and rubber. You name it. I love them all. I think they’re one of the most versatile tools because you can use one stamp and get a different look each time you use it. Change the ink color and get a different look. Use a technique like embossing and get a whole different look. I also have great appreciation for ledger paper and American Crafts letter stickers, which frequently find their way onto my projects.

3. Name three Paper Crafts designers whose styles you like and tell me why they appeal to you.

Kim Hughes. Kim makes a lot of cards and has such a cheerful, friendly style. She adds lots of doodles, inking and texture. I love that. Her projects never look the same to me, yet her style comes through time and time again.

Dawn McVey. Dawn is a stamper with great design skills. Her projects are always so clean and crisp. I’m really drawn to that. I hope to see a lot more from her in the magazine in the future.

Alisa Bangerter. Alisa just amazes me. Her projects really stand out to me as consistently well thought out, designed and put together. I often wonder how she comes up with the ideas for her projects.

4. You’ve had the opportunity to work with a number of different publications. How do you keep yourself organized?

I am a lister. I make lists of calls I want to submit to, products I want to work with and post-call follow-up work I need to do. I’ve also learned to set limits for myself. I don’t submit to everything. I am not on a lot of different design teams. I only try for things I really do have an interest in.

5. Do you have any advice for someone who’s never been published or who wants to try submitting for the first time?

  • Don’t fuss over it. Just take the plunge and submit. You’ll never get published without taking that first step.
  • Don’t feel like you have to do what the designers you see right now in the magazine are doing to get published.
  • Stay true to your own paper crafting style and use the products and techniques that make you happy. Products come and go. And what is a hip technique today may not be so cool six months from now.
  • Remember it’s not anything against you if your project is not picked up right away. Your project just may not work with others the magazine’s editors have chosen.
  • I’ve never known a magazine editor who keeps a list of people to reject. Well, good ones, at least. Just kidding! In my experience, they just want a project that wows them and will appeal to their magazine’s readers.

6. What is your favorite thing to paper craft and why?

Cards are my absolute favorite thing to make. A card is just a great little canvas to try out a new design or technique on. I don’t feel bad if doesn’t work out because I can just throw the card out. That’s something I can’t bring myself to do with scrapbook pages. Cards also make people happy. I’ve never had anyone complain about receiving a handmade card. It’s like giving them a little piece of me. Even if I can’t be there to give them a hug in person, the recipients know they really were on my mind when I made their cards.

7. What design teams are you on?

I’m on Art Declassified’s team.

8. How would you describe your style?

Funky, yet simple with a few flecks of technique thrown in the mix. I deviate from my style once in awhile, but I find I am usually the happiest with my projects that are simple and haven’t taken hours to pull off.

9. What do you like about working with Paper Crafts magazine?

For me, Paper Crafts has helped me to become a better designer. I’ve had many projects picked up by the magazine that I’ve had to rework before they’ve appeared in print. That has helped me to become more confident in why a design will or will not work. It’s also made me think more about how products coordinate together, like when I’ve mixed together a bold green patterned paper and a solid green ribbon. In the past, I might have picked a wild, polka dot ribbon, which would have clashed more with the paper than complimented it. By the way, I’ve always felt strange calling myself a designer. It has always seemed a bit on the stuffy side. I’m really just a crafty girl who likes to make stuff that gets in a magazine every so often.  

10. Do you have a blog or online gallery? If so, please provide the URL.

www.terisplace.wordpress.com

Heres Teris Never Give Up card from Stamp It! Cards

Here's Teri's "Never Give Up" card from Stamp It! Cards.

And heres Teris Perhaps card, also from Stamp It! Cards

And here's Teri's "Perhaps" card, also from Stamp It! Cards.

So hopefully you’ve enjoyed getting to know Teri Anderson a little bit better. Please leave a comment below and you’ll be entered into a drawing to receive her “Thank You” card set and a copy of Stamp It! Cards. All comments must be received by midnight on Tuesday, March 17.

Leave a comment and win this card set by Teri!

Leave a comment and win this card set by Teri!

And make sure you head over to Moxie Fab World! Cath is spotlighting some yummy Papertrey Ink sets and yes, giving a few of them away! And get ready for tomorrow’s St. Patrick’s Day post by our little leprechaun Susan Opel! I hear she’ll be giving away something green!

Kelly

P.S. Congrats to Felicia Archie! She won my stamped butterfly card and a copy of Stamp It! Cards from last week’s Freebie Friday – Countdown to Stamp It! Week! I’ll be e-mailing you shortly for your mailing address. Thanks to all who left comments and played along!

